Kodiak Daily Mirror - Roberson wins first Kodiak major
Roberson wins first Kodiak major
by Derek Clarkston / sports@kodiakdailymirror.com
Aug 22, 2012 | 30 views | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Dustin Roberson putts during the Stuart Lutton Golf Tournament Sunday at the Bear Valley Golf Course.        (Derek Clarkston photo)
view slideshow (7 images)
It didn’t take Dustin Roberson long to win his first Kodiak golf major.

Roberson, a year after moving to the Emerald Island from Juneau, captured the men’s championship flight of the 12th Stuart Lutton Golf Tournament Sunday at the Bear Valley Golf Course.

Last year, Roberson finished second to Brett Larsen by one stroke. This time around, Roberson cruised to a four-shot victory over John Sullivan.

The big-hitting Roberson finished with a 10-over-par, 36-hole total of 152. Sullivan had a 156, while two-time defending champion Larsen was third at 158.

Kriss Larsen won her seventh Stuart Lutton women’s title with a 180.

Kodiak’s golf majors consist of two tournaments — the Stuart Lutton and the Kodiak Island Golf Championship over Labor Day weekend. Roberson won his first major in his third try.

“I was just putting good. Everything worked out good,” Roberson said. “I’m just glad I had a great group of guys to play with.”

Roberson was paired with Sullivan, Larsen and Mike Haymaker, who finished fourth, in Sunday’s final group.

Roberson started the last round with a four-shot lead over Sullivan after firing an opening 73 on Saturday.

The right-handed Roberson increased his lead to seven midway through the final 18 holes.

It turned out he needed the cushion as he finished with a double and triple bogey on the final two holes.

“Isn’t that terrible?” Roberson said.

It might have been terrible, but it was good enough to win on Sunday.

Kriss Larsen carded an 87 on Saturday and a 93 on Sunday to finish 39 strokes ahead of runner-up Susan Schmiesser — the only other lady in the tournament.

Last year, Larsen was the only woman in the field.

“It’s nice that there was one more lady this year,” Larsen said.

Jerry LaFollette won the men’s first flight with a 182, while Jorg Schmeisser captured the second flight with a 185.

Franke Brown and Tom Trosvig won the closest to the pin contest, while Roberson and Martin both had the men’s longest drive.

Susan Schmiesser and Kriss Larsen shared the women’s longest drive award.

The Stuart Lutton is the only fundraiser for the Stuart Lutton scholarship.

Organizer Skip Bolton said he gave $10,000 worth of Stuart Lutton scholarships out last year to Kodiak students.

Contact Mirror writer Derek Clarkston at sports@kodiak



Championship flight

1. Dustin Roberson, 152; 2. John Sullivan 156; 3. Brett Larsen, 158; 4. 4. Mike Haymaker, 169; 5. Chuck Martin, 169; 6. Ken Lipski, 170; 7. Sam Manavong, 175; Carl McLaughlin, 176.

First flight

1. Jerry LaFollette, 182; 2. Terry Nap, 186; 3. Guy Hughey, 188; 4. Tom Trosvig, 188; 5. Jim Kennedy, 189; 6. Randy Ensign, 190; 7. Franke Brown, 194; 8. Tyner, 200.

Second flight

1. Jorg Schmeisser, 185; 2. Jason Bang, 190; 3. Lonnie White, 194; 4. Kevin Creelman, 194; 5. Steve O’Brien, 201; 6. John Kennedy, 208; 7. McQuire, 209; 8. Welman, 213; 9. Wesley Lewis, 220.


Championship flight

1. Kriss Larsen, 180; 2. Susan Schmeisser, 219.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
The Kodiak Daily Mirror encourages a lively exchange of ideas regarding topics in the news. Users are solely responsible for the content. Please keep it clean, respect others and use the 'report abuse' link when necessary. Read our full user's agreement.
Search Our Marketplace
or Search by category